12 months!

29 Sep

Russian baby cookies – hard, sweet, bread-rings that are a lot like pretzels. They’re awesome!

I’m finally getting this posted. . .a couple weeks late. Good thing I had a draft in my folder so I didn’t forget what N was up to when he turned one!!

No chair pics this time because a) we were too busy with teaching/party planning/moving for me to take them and b) the chair broke. .. and I couldn’t manage to fix it.  Hopefully once we get all unpacked and I find the piece that broke I can glue it back together.

So, without further ado. . .N at 12 months!

Naked dancing baby!

The stats: 25 pounds and 30 inches long. You’re a big boy!!  You’re still in size 4 diapers, size 18 mo clothes for the most part. They’re a little big, but 12 month clothes are a little small.

Nicknames: We’ve really pared-down the nicknames to our favorites: Muffin, bunny (zayets), chi-ki-ti-ta, Nikitos

Temperament: Fun! Sweet! Opinionated! We’re beginning to see your stubbornness come out.

What You’re Eating: Blueberries, tomatoes, avocado, peaches, eggs, cheese, macaroni and cheese .. . .although you’re beginning to throw yummy fruits and vegetables off your tray, preferring only the “white” foods.

Things I Could Do Without: Teething, round 2. You got your 8th tooth this month and you’re beginning to get your “fangs” and your molars.  This means trauma for your mama–i.e. painful feedings (I don’t think you have to worry about your iron levels–your milk comes with a nice dose of blood 😦 )

Item/Toy I Love The Most: Since you’re so mobile now, crawling and climbing everywhere, I’d have to say that your playpen and your play table are my favorites. You can burn energy and entertain yourself and not get into trouble!

Item/Toy You Love The Most: Mama? You’ve gotten a good does of separation anxiety this month and your favorite thing is to be in close physical contact with your mama. It may be because you’ve been spending so much time with grandma and grandpa and mom has been preoccupied with teaching, or it could just be a developmental state.  Either way, you love your ma. It’s cute.  Your first word even came this month (September 1- my due date with you!) when you sweetly looked up at me as I was rocking you to sleep and said “mama” with your little angel voice.  Since then, mama comes in many tones -insistent, excited, and in multiples -ma-ma-ma-ma ma!! I think it is your universal word that can mean anything. But I do love the feeling behind it when it really is directed towards me ❤

Things I’m Loving Most Right Now: Bonding with dad – in the mornings I get up early to go to teach (class at 9:30 am, so I’m usually up at 7/7:30 so I can drink coffee, eat, and catch the bus). You’re not awake yet, but I don’t want to leave you in the big bed alone where you can crawl off, so dad comes in and you snuggle till 10 or 11. It’s so cute!!  You two have all kinds of special moments, whether it’s after-bath tickles or cruising around stores in the stroller. I love to see your relationship grow.

Things You’re Loving Most Right Now: You love other kids – your birthday party was fun because of the other babies there! You love to go to stores and watch people and look at things. The big world out there is so fun. Most of all, you’re loving time with your grandparents who have been out here all month. You’re you’re lucky to have so many people who really really love you!!

This was a really big month for you, Nikitos – you said your first word, you got the balance to stand independently. You spend tons of time with grandma and grandpa (lucky boy!) and you’re having so much fun exploring the big world around you.  You TURNED ONE!! You, my angel, have been out in the world for one year. You are definitely our blessing and made our lives richer.  Happy birthday, my muffin!!

Leave a Reply

