11 months!

21 Aug

The stats: Size 4 diapers, size 12 mo clothes are too small–you’re still wearing them since it’s summer and not-quite-fitting into clothing works since you’re pretty much in shorts and rompers.  Your chubby belly doesn’t squeeze well into pants–I think I need to start looking for other brands to find a “huskier” fit since 18-month clothes are longer but not necessarily wider.

Nicknames: Muffin, bunny (zayets),  chi-ki-ti-ta, “cutest baby in the world” (because you are).

Temperament: So silly! You have begun to “play” with us. One of our favorite games is for me to clap my hands. Then I stop with my palms together. You take your little pointer finger and pry my hands apart. If I hold them apart, you push them together so that I clap again! You don’t want to clap by yourself, but you’ll give me “five.” You also love your beach ball.

What You’re Eating: BLUEBERRIES! If you are what you eat, then you are a blueberry! You love them most of all!!! You also love avocado, cheerios, kiwi, organic cheddar bunny crackers (saved my life during our trip to Montana), cheese, eggs, chicken (really, any meat), pasta (you had your first mac & cheese this month!).  You don’t like mango or strawberries.

Things I Could Do Without: waking up several times a night, all night. I’m having serious mama jealousy of all the babes who sleep 7 hours or 12 hour stretches. I know you’re a big boy and quite hungry at night, but dude, I’d love some sleep!

Item/Toy I Love The Most: You’re really loving/getting a lot of fun play out of the activity center your grandparents got you for Christmas. Now that you’re standing (eek!), you love to run and walk all around the table in the “walker.” You now enjoy each of the toys on the tabletop. It’s also a great place to put cheerios and other snacks for you to eat during the day. Your Dr. said that babies eat about 25% of their food in snacks!

Item/Toy You Love The Most: Hmm, your current “movie” love is a documentary film called “My Perestroika” about a group of school friends who grew up under communism but became adults right around the end of the USSR. It follows their lives and interviews them about how they’re living in Moscow now. It has awesome documentary footage from the USSR and lots of music from your dad’s childhood. Another documentary that totally entrances you–you like it on while you play and it helps you nap when dad is home watching you. All I can say is that I’m glad at least this one is in Russian 😉

Other than your film, you have lots of toys you enjoy: your ball, your stuffed octopus, you love your play yard (you can crawl and stand in it) and the little music toy “ipod.” You like things that make noise and interact with you 🙂

Things I’m Loving Most Right Now: Going on adventures with you! Seriously, one of the happiest days of my life was hiking in Glacier with you. I love going to the wading pool or the park to play on the swings. We went to the farmer’s market and although you were a bit cranky it was awesome! I love these little bits of time with just me and you.

Things You’re Loving Most Right Now: Your feet – you love to crawl and stand and bounce and get use out of those funny legs of yours! Whenever you wake up at night, you immediately crawl to the end of your crib, stand and cry. I can’t figure out if you’re crawling/standing in your sleep or in your grogginess but you are definitely surprised and frustrated to find yourself standing there. Sometimes you’ll wake up after just an hour of sleep like this.

You had a funny phase when you just learned to stand where you loved to stand up but couldn’t figure out how to get back down so you’d cry and cry until someone saved you. Good thing it only lasted a couple days!!

Oh! And you love baths!! You’re finally playing in the big tub all by yourself and it is awesome! Now that you’re eating so much (and completely on your own–no help from mama), you get really messy so after dinner you get a nightly dip in the tub. I try not to do it every single night because it’s bad for your skin, but most evenings you’re just too covered in food!

Chickatita – I’m totally late in posting this because I’m in denial that you’re almost a year old. That my tiny baby that grew in by belly is getting so big and independent. I love feeding you in the evenings and at night because I get to see that baby again. Although I’d love to actually sleep at night, when you do sleep for longer stretches I miss you.

This month makes me anxious–anxious to find a bigger place to live in so that you can crawl/walk and explore in your own home. It is impossible to babyproof our current place without pretty much hauling all our stuff out and putting it back in. Our current living arrangements just aren’t working for our little family and we need to explore other options. I’m anxious to plan an awesome birthday party for you because you are such a precious part of our family and need to be celebrated. I’m anxious about this fall and whether you should go into part-time daycare for social development/fun or if it would just introduce illness, expense, and hassle into our lives. Your papa and I have a lot of decisions to make and we so want to do right by you.

I love you, we love you so much! This was an amazing month for you–you got to spend so much time with people who adore you. Your grandpa and grandpa, your uncle Mike, your aunt & uncle and my cousins. You got to go on your first roadtrip and you did wonderfully. I just love how beautifully you fit into our little family!!

Leave a Reply

