Still fighting sleep

10 Jul

We are in a new sleeping phase and this might be the trickiest yet. Since babe is now crawling, it isn’t safe to have him sleeping on our big bed alone so we have transitioned him to his crib. He didn’t like that!!! We had to break a couple habits: falling asleep while drinking milk, sleeping on the bed, and cuddling to sleep with mom.

After several days of crying to sleep, I was desperate. I researched things online–turns out we’re in the middle of teething, the 9-mo sleep regression, and a change in sleep routine. So we headed to babies r us for a solution. I heard good reviews of this glow seahorse and we also got a stuffed turtle which projects stars in the ceiling.

20120710-012141.jpg
We’ve already seen a vast improvement with the glow seahorse. He’s so cute cuddling with it!

We also got a Baltic amber teething necklace delivered today. Baltic amber apparently has succinic acid which dulls teething pain when in contact with the skin. Many parents swear by it, (although not everyone) so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try–plus he looks so cute wearing it!

20120710-012612.jpg
So far so good! Tonight was one of the easiest nights in recent memory. Fingers crossed it stays that way!! Now to just get him sleeping more than 4 hrs regularly…

…Updated after writing this at 1am–babe woke up at 12 to eat and at 2am to party. He didn’t go back down until 4-ish, only to wake at 5:30. Why sleep when you can crawl all over mom and shriek to wake up dad? We ended up going out to the living room at 5:30 (did I mention babe has been sleeping in his crib and hubs and I have actually been sleeping in our bed?) and put N in his car seat, turned on his dolphin film and we slept ’till 9. Not too bad, but dude, sleep already!

2 Responses to “Still fighting sleep”

  1. harrytimes July 11, 2012 at 5:13 am #

    Oh my gosh– this is EXACTLY what’s going on with us. Sometimes he’s fine– still wakes up a couple times to eat, but goes right back to sleep– and sometimes he’s up for a long time in the middle of the night and wakes at the crack of dawn. Ugh. I may try the seahorse 🙂

    • GradBaby July 11, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Ugh, that sucks! I’m so sorry you’re going through the same thing. . although it does make me feel better to know I have company! It kills me when I hear about all the babies who sleep long stretches at night–I feel like N will be waking to eat ’till he’s four. Tell me it gets better!!

Leave a Reply

