And now they’re gone …

18 Jun


Ooh, it’s nice to be on the other side of this week (which is crazy thinking about the week we have ahead of us!). We had 2 back-to-back weddings for our business (including a 3-day Indian wedding extravaganza). I had some hours to put in for my upcoming teaching job. N. cut another tooth and we tried to get work done while we had someone to play with babe.

But now it’s over and my parents are already back home in Montana.

Despite the craziness, this week was wonderful!!!! I can see N. benefiting from all the interaction he got from his grandparents. He’s pretty much crawling, he’s “talking” a lot more, and he’s developed even more dexterity–especially hand movements in response to ours. My mom taught him patty cake–he doesn’t quite play it yet but will mimic what you do. I think itsy-bitsy spider is up next.


Air Force One from the 1960s–Kennedy used it and Nikita Khrushchev toured the US in it!

While they were here, we ate a ton of good food, visited a local museum, and got a lot of work done. And they didn’t only take care of the babe–my dad fixed a broken drawer in our kitchen that has bothered me for months but it is pretty much on the bottom of my “to do” list. It was nice to have people to help feed us, do dishes, etc. Nice any day, but especially nice while we were so busy.

N. spent a lot of one-on-one time with grandma and grandpa and I think they had a lot of fun together. My dad sure got excited to take the babe to Home Depot and Costco – haha! Babe got used to napping without mama around, but the last night they were here was a wedding that went past midnight and, thus, past babe’s first wake-up/feeding. He refused everything but his mama–and my mom barely got him back to sleep an hour later. I made sure to give him extra cuddles today!!



happy Father’s day!!

I am so sad to see my parents go. I love seeing them as grandparents. My dad is the cutest grandpa ever. It brings back so many good memories of my childhood and I really think being a “daddy” or a “granddad” is what he does best. My mom is so caring–it is clear that N. is so comfortable with her! I love having four extra hands to hold my baby, four extra lips to give him kisses and two people who adore him as much as we do.  I know he misses them already . . . and so do I. I just wish they didn’t live so far away. I’m pretty much counting the days till they’re back in September.

Leave a Reply

