Mama’s little boy

10 May

Most mornings around here look something like this:

20120510-092616.jpg
But yesterday N. was upset–not sure if he is cutting his top teeth (he won’t let us look or feel), or if he was a little sick, but the last few days he wouldn’t go down to sleep ’til late and woke often (sobbing). When he woke at 8:30am for the day, we played a bit but I watched for the first sign of sleepiness to encourage him to sleep again. Right around 9:30 he was rubbing his eyes so i gave him a little milk, some cuddles, and it was off to sleep-sleep-sleep! I took the chance to nap too.

Probably 30 min later he woke, sobbing. I groggily tried to feed him more (sucking often consoles him), but no go. I sat him up, as he sometimes cries like this from gas pain. Nothing. I sat up and cuddled him but he wasn’t having it. Somehow we found a spot with him laying perpendicular to me on his tummy with his little head resting on my chest, cradled by my arm … And he slept.

He slept for the next 3 hours, waking every 30-45 min crying but quickly consoled by sweet words and a kiss. He stayed in the same spot the whole time and miraculously my arm didn’t fall asleep and I managed to nap a bit too.

It was so precious to be able to physically console my boy like this. Although we co-sleep, we each have our own sides of the bed. I guess his mama’s touch was just what he needed πŸ™‚ And for the rest of the day he napped wonderfully and slept well last night.

2 Responses to “Mama’s little boy”

  1. CP May 11, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Hmmm, that does sound like teething. Poor guy! Glad he was better in the morning and I hope you got some sleep too!

    • GradBaby May 12, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

      It’s so hard to tell with teething – he finally let me feel in there and there doesn’t seem to be any bumps. For the first teeth, he seemed to teethe from 3.5 months, but they popped out without notice at 7.5. So who knows what’s going on!! He has been letting me sleep a bit the last few days, so things seem to be improving, whatever it was πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

