Bottle Feeding

6 Mar

20120306-210726.jpg

20120306-210856.jpg

Unrelated pics, but isn’t my boy cute sleeping? We’ve been working on naps and he’s been falling alseep in some funny positions.

So it turns out that the babe is now refusing bottles. After all our breastfeeding drama, I really hated pumping, and the last time he had to be bottle fed might have been 2 months ago. He recently lost interest in pacifiers, so I’m guessing that’s related. On the one hand, it’s not a big deal. I have a really flexible schedule and tend to work only in the afternoons. We have delightful mornings of sleep, playing, naps, and feeding . . .so it should be ok to be away for 4 hours or so. Plus he’s starting foods soon, so that gap will soon be bridged by fun food tastings!

But on the other hand, I hate that the babe needs only me for feedings. What if I really do have a day of meetings? What if I need to travel somewhere overnight? What if I want to go somewhere overnight? But then, is that even realistic? Do I actually trust anyone with my boy for too long? Is it worth the hassle to get him back on the bottle just to feed him sometimes from it when my fresh milk really isn’t that far away and I won’t actually be going anywhere anytime soon?

I’ve heard that people have some success with cups at this age, so we may just move into a sippy cup with breastmilk and see if he’ll like that. He’s showing a lot of independence these days, so it might just be what he needs. Really, we just need something to bridge the gap when I have to work and leave the babe with dad for more than 3-4 hours.

This is just another instance of taking everything one day at a time!

3 Responses to “Bottle Feeding”

  1. CP March 6, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    very freaking cute! Sorry about the feeding issues! Hopefully the sippy cups work!

    • GradBaby March 6, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks Cee! I kind of feel like it’s a non-issue. He’s eating just fine without a bottle, but psychologically I feel like he needs to be able to drink from a bottle. We’ll pick up some cups, see how it goes, and keep going with my lazy/easy style of parenting 🙂

  2. harrytimes March 7, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Solids have been a HUGE help for us– some oatmeal and milk and a fruit and veggie are great for my husband to feed him if I am gone longer than 3 hours. I am not stressed about it anymore– it’s just 6 more months– such a tiny little blip in terms of their whole childhoods, you know? But it IS hard to pan my whole life between feedings. I remember that my older kids ate a LOT of food by 9 or 10 months, including YoBaby yogurt, which was really filling, so it’s bound to get better quick.

Leave a Reply

