Time warp

27 Jan

All week I have known that Friday would be a killer day – I had an important meeting at 8am, then 2 meetings with students at 10. Another optional workshop I could observe from 12-2, a discussion group at 2:30 and an important meeting at 3. Busy.

I had the perfect plan. Get up early and do the morning meetings. Come home for lunch, eat, feed baby, then take him with me for the afternoon meetings. After all, several people keep telling me that “all meetings are better with a baby.” I’m trying to bring babe to campus occasionally for political reasons–to normalize the idea that women, students, faculty, etc have kids and it’s ok.

Imagine my surprise when I woke up today at 10 am and realized that it is in fact, FRIDAY, Jan 27th, and I HAD NO IDEA. I could have sworn that it was still Thursday. Sworn as in checked my iphone. Facebook. Email and internet calendars for confirmation that the universe wasn’t playing a joke on me.

Nope – instead all my great plans went to waste and I missed the important morning meetings. I ended up going to campus with baby in the afternoon which was moderately successful and completely stressful because maybe meetings are fun for observers but not for the mama who needs to make sure baby stays quiet. I did what I needed to do–observed the workshop, attended the great discussion group and left too early to go to the important 3pm meeting. I found someone who had notes from the important early morning meeting. I came home, wrote up meeting notes and got a few other tasks from my RAship done. Not all a FAIL day, but it just feels like it because I let the ball drop.

It sucks because I didn’t oversleep. I didn’t get too busy. Baby wasn’t cranky. I just had no idea what DATE it was. Just when I think I have the mama thing down (I cooked all week, baby has been eating and sleeping well. I’ve been sleeping well) something just reminds me that I’m juggling a lot and one of the balls comes crashing down.

Sucks. But with a big, tall, glass of sweet red wine I’ve forgiven myself.

Now time to start the weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Responses to “Time warp”

  1. CP January 28, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Wow! I’ve had Thursdays that felt like Fridays. I’ve even had Thursdays that felt like Wednesdays but it’s crazy to not actually know what day it is! Your body must have been playing tricks on you. Glad you survived and now it’s over ๐Ÿ™‚

    • GradBaby January 28, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

      Thanks Cee – it was crazy! My boss is out of town so I’ve been working from home all week and I guess I just got too cozy in our little family haze. It was seriously the freakiest thing to be seriously, totally, unaware of the day/date. BUT I’ve gotten a ton done since, so maybe it was for the best!

  2. Norah Fahim February 12, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Aiiii- well if it’s any consolation you looked all came and collected when I saw you that day, and it was a delight to see Nikita ๐Ÿ™‚

    • GradBaby February 15, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks Norah! Sometimes there’s nothing you can do, so it’s best to just roll with it and not let one mistake ruin the rest of your day!

Leave a Reply

