Bumpdate: 40 weeks

3 Sep

Bumpdate: 40 weels

Due Date: Umm, this week. Baby will be here ANY TIME!

Weight Gain: Probably around 35 pounds – it still fluctuates daily. I’m pretty happy–I haven’t gained too much in my body, so I think I’ll bounce back reasonably quickly.

Symptoms: Braxton-Hicks practice contractions for the past month or so. Baby has definitely dropped over the past weeks so I have my stomach back. I have a hard time sleeping through the night now because my pelvis gets sore sleeping on my side. I can’t lay on my back because the weight is just too much on my organs. I’ve been tired and cranky this week, but I’ve been forcing myself to be social and not just sit and wait for baby to come. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that he might be quite late, and THATS OK!

Sleep: We’re in a really bad sleep pattern, but I don’t care. We go to sleep between 2-4 am. I wake up right around 8am from hip pain. Some days I lounge on the couch. Other days I sleep on the couch. Sometimes I just take a break on the couch, eat, then go back to bed.  After a few nights of just a couple hours of sleep, I’m sleeping better. I think it’s anticipation. . .

I am looking forward to: this new phase of our lives. It’s so strange to know that EVERYTHING will change any day now, but we don’t know when that will happen or what it’ll be like, so it’s hard to get ready. So we’re just trying to enjoy this time together and stay relaxed, knowing that we can’t know what to expect.

I’m freaking out about: Every little twinge, cramp, movement, etc in my body. When will this baby come? What will it be like? Am I really ready?!?!  BUT, I’m keeping this anxiety in check and trying to focus on what I said above–relax and take it as it comes.

Best moment this week: Lots of cute moments–baby is so big! I loved when the midwife checked baby’s heartbeat with her ear to my belly–sharing that with the hubs was awesome. I loved hanging out with my friend who is now about 16 weeks pregnant.  It was also cute watching hubs when he came to the latest midwife appointment–she did a cervical check (which was moderately painful)–he moved near the door so he didn’t have to see anything and turned away to hide when I was moaning/commenting in discomfort.  Labor will be quite the process for him too–LOL!

Milestones: Yesterday was technically my due date! I’m post-date! Baby will be here any time and he’s likely to be around 8lbs!

Movement: Lots! He still doesn’t move a ton, but since he’s gotten so big its so noticeable now. He’s kicking or hiccuping or something right now.

Exercise: I’m trying to walk briskly for 30 min every day.  I’ve done a good job so far and I feel fit and able and my body is progressing towards labor.

Diet: Anything–I’ve been trying to eat spicy things but it results in  . .nothing 🙂  I’m glad to have my stomach back–I can eat what I want when I want and the heartburn has calmed down.

Goals for the upcoming week: Give birth? Is that so much to ask?!! HAHA!

Belly Shot: I hope this is the last!!

Leave a Reply

