Bumpdate: 30 weeks

28 Jun

Bumpdate: 30 weeks

Due Date: Early September 2011. approx 10 weeks to go! gah!!

Weight Gain: Up 30-35 pounds. Eek!

Symptoms: I’m still sleeping well, but I’m beginning to feel a bone-ache when I sleep too long on my left side.  Apparently if I move to my back or right I snore, so I try to stay on my left (it’s good for circulation, too). I may have to start sleeping with additional pillows either between my legs or under my belly. Still have some leg cramps but I’m working on catching them before they get horrible.

I am loving: Our birthing class – haha! The hubs came kicking and screaming. In his country, men take no part in the childbirth process, so this hands-on stuff is foreign to him. Add to that a quirky childbirth educator and we’ve been giggling since.  The class was a combination of boring and ridiculous–but useful. The highlights were this fun activity where the men all blew up balloons with ping-pong balls in them.  They didn’t tie them off and then let the ball settle into the hole.  This was supposed to symbolize the uterus and baby’s head (of course, not to scale). The neck of the balloon is the cervix.  When you squeeze the balloon by the sides, nothing happens to the ball or neck (like braxton-hicks contractions). When you push from the top-down, the neck becomes shorter just like in real labor.  As hubs pushed down from the top, the ball came shooting out! It was so funny!  Also, we did a relaxation exercise to light music where all the pairs laid on the floor. Afterwards we were told to practice at home, so every time we go to bed I joke that it’s time for a massage and music. We can’t wait (sarcastically) ’till next week–it’s kind of a silly class but I think it is a really useful exercise and moves us into the mindframe of being parents.

I miss: Not weighing a million pounds. Both for vain and also energy reasons. I just get so tired packin an extra 3o pounds!

I am looking forward to: Our next birthing class 😉

I’m freaking out about: Umm, I guess I’m beginning to worry a bit about birth details–like vaccines, cutting the cord & baby procedures.  And after today’s appointment/ultrasound, it’s becoming more & more real. He’s so cute (and so big!)

Best moment this week: Birthing class – haha! Birthday party on Saturday with friends. Meeting my summer quarter students. It’s been a busy week! But for real, today’s ultrasound/midwife appt was amazing – baby is so cute! He’s a calm boy & quite shy–for most of the ultrasound he was covering his face with both hands 🙂 After he showed his face, he pouted–lower lip out big & fat.

Milestones: Baby’s the size of a squash!

Movement: He seems to be really stretching out and checking out all the corners of his home–I’ve started to get kicks under the ribs, into my back, down low.. .He’s active and seems to be enjoying his space.

Exercise: Sunday I went for a nice long walk in the park. I probably walked 20 min before I needed to pause–if I walk too long or too fast my lower belly gets sore.

Diet:  Now that we have our new awesome freezer, I’m focusing on easy, cheap, healthy foods. So I think our diet will be getting better & better.

Goals for the upcoming week: Keep thinking of good, cheap, healthy things to cook. Get enough sleep. Stay on top of teaching. Enjoy life!

Belly  Baby Shot:

profile

face, straight-on.  

Look at that chubby cheek and that chin! Handsome man!!

One Response to “Bumpdate: 30 weeks”

  1. Megan from Wisconsin July 2, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    good job growing that baby! Thinking of easy healthy foods is a great goal, I too find that thinking of what to make is half the battle! Do you know what’s cheap and healthy? Black beans! I like to rinse a can, cut up some tomatoes, cut up some yellow peppers, add some olive oil and lime juice and cilantro, and it’s salsa.

    Parents magazine or Parenting magazine, one of those, tends to have fast easy healthy recipes. Those magazines also get goofy sometimes–just like those birthing classes!

Leave a Reply

