Bumpdate: 27 weeks

9 Jun

Bumpdate: 27 weeks

Due Date: Early September 2011. 13-ish weeks to go!

Weight Gain: Totally stable – the belly seems to keep growing but my weight isn’t going up. This is a good sign because I’m still eating like I want to – 3-4 meals a day, a combo of healthy food and craving food. That mean’s I’m losing weight, right?

Symptoms: If I overdo it, I have tailbone pain. I’ve had a few nights of restless legs.  I had a few terrible leg cramps at night: one night I was only able to moan in pain until it released.  I’ll wake up in the middle of the night and have a good stretch . . .but point my toes. I guess that causes the tailbone pain. So I remind myself to stretch and flex my feet but not to point my toes.

Cravings/Aversions: sugar! I can’t help myself. Sweets are so good! But tomorrow I go in for the Gestational Diabetes test so I am cut off for today/tomorrow. I pray that I don’t have GD–I don’t know how I would fight the cravings for yummy sweet things!!

Sleep: Good. Turning over sucks, but sleep is good!

I am looking forward to: heading to Montana next week to visit my family, visit Yellowstone, and do some baby shopping. I plan to buy the pack & play (which will serve as crib for the first few months) while we’re there. . .and finally allow myself to start getting some of the necessities.

I’m freaking out about: Nothing at the moment. I have a lot of little things to do and a lot of big things to do this month (like finish grading, film a wedding, go to Montana, start teaching, celebrate my 30th birthday, etc etc etc…). But I’m feelin’ good 🙂

Best moment this week: Baby gifts – I came home yesterday after some errands and there was a box by the door. Inside: 3 things from our Target registry from a friend who lives across the US. I studied abroad in the UK with her and we’ve stayed in touch since.  It was just so thoughtful to send something and I’ve been sad that there will be no baby shower for me (people are too scattered for anyone to organize anything and I can’t throw one myself), but I’m still getting the love through these little encounters.  Sure, getting a gift is nice, but I’m finding that it is the symbol of support and the little bits of advice that come along with it are SO meaningful!

Milestones: Baby is the size of an eggplant! I’m in the third trimester by most counts!

Movement: Every day he give a little kick or shudder to say hi!

Goals for the upcoming week: Finish grading tomorrow, turn in grades, prep this wedding, film it, and drive to Montana–yay!

Belly Shot: This was very definitely taken at 27 1/2 weeks, but it still counts!

One Response to “Bumpdate: 27 weeks”

  1. Megan from Wisconsin July 2, 2011 at 2:33 am #

    So glad to hear you got the gifts…and the comments on the packing slip too! It is so sweet that you feel like you’re missing out on having people butt in with advice. I guess that is a major part of being pregnant with your first kid, the way other parents need to tell you all about it, to me it seemed kind of irritating! And I kept that annoyance in mind while commenting on your gifts but I just couldn’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

