Bumpdate: 26 weeks

30 May

Bumpdate: 26 Weeks

Due Date: Early September 2011. 24-ish weeks to go!

Weight Gain: happily up 20/25 pounds. Nicely avoiding the scary number.  There really was a big growth spurt in weeks 20-22, now things seem to have tapered off. I’m also eating better, which I think means that my body is losing weight while my belly grows-grows-grows!

Symptoms: If I walk too fast, I get round ligament pain. It kind of cramps my style because I like to walk briskly wherever I go. Rather than leaving hubs in the dust, I now have to ask him to slow down.

Sleep: I ❤ sleep! I still get my normal amount, but turning over in the night can be a pain, literally. See above round ligament pain. My body is definitely adjusting to carrying a basketball in my belly.

I am loving: the fact that I’m almost done with this quarter, summer is almost here, and I get to see my family soon!

I miss: My friends 😦 I’m realizing that I don’t really have a circle of good friends anywhere. I have lots of people who are important to me but they’re all around the world. I doubt anyone will throw me a baby shower; not even sure if anyone will want to celebrate my 30th birthday. Sad times, but I’m not going to let it get me down!!

I am looking forward to: Montana!

I’m freaking out about: I have so much to finish this week: grading 20 5-7 page papers by tomorrow night. Finishing a major part of my final project for the class I’m taking for Tuesday so my partner and I can present. Then finishing it for real for Thursday.  Tutoring. Finalizing things for a wedding on Saturday. Prepping my students to turn in their final writing portfolios for next Monday. Grading those. Prepping another wedding and doing the full gestational diabetes test/rhogam shot on the 9th. . .shooting our 2nd June wedding and driving to MT. Yeah. A lot to do in the next 2 weeks!

Best moment this week: Alien baby! I took a bath last night and he was active. He was pushing and poking all around my belly and I could see it from the outside. So strange!! As it gets more obvious, I’m going to have to video it. It’s so bizarre!!

Milestones: Baby’s the size of an eggplant. Yum!

Movement: Kicking and twisting and turning. I still think he likes feet down, head up facing my right side. Every ultrasound he’s that way and that side of my belly is bigger.

It’s a…: still a little boy in there 😉 still can’t believe it!

Exercise: Nothing planned, but I try to walk around. I can’t go fast but I know it’s good for me. I had a huge long walk around campus the other day for errands and it was nice. Just gotta take it slow or my belly hurts.

Diet: we ate a bunch of Russian food this week (took the trip to the Russian store). I also chopped up a bunch of carrots and cucumber and I’ve been eating those. It’s nice to have snack food around that is healthy. The #1 improvement this week has been our new refrigerator! SO NICE to actually be able to have frozen food and food that doesn’t mold in just a few days. I can eat ice cream again 🙂 And I do, just about every evening!

Goals for the upcoming week: Survive!  and actually finish everything and do it well!

Belly Shot: Belly’s getting bigger and rounder 🙂 Also notice that I’m embracing ‘crazy hair’–my usual curls just aren’t right with the pregnancy hormones. I’m tired of greasy hair. So I’ve been using a de-frizz serum and just blowdrying how it is. It’s crazy but I think it actually looks ok 🙂

Leave a Reply

