Bumpdate: 19 weeks

9 Apr

Bumpdate: 19 Weeks

Due Date: Early September 2011. 21-ish weeks to go!

Weight Gain: Up about 10 pounds.  We finally got a scale, so it’s kind of fun to watch my weight rise gradually. I hope I don’t freak out as it climbs-climb-climbs.

Symptoms: Still get moments of extreme tiredness.  Also the tailbone pain gets me sometimes. I was really dumb and fell down earlier this week getting into an elevator (really, who does that?!) so I have a big bruise on my knee and it yanked my tailbone, too. I just gotta remember to take it slow–my growing belly changes my center of balance.

Cravings/Aversions: chocolate! I definitely have a chocolate craving at least once a day, but I’m packing around good healthy snacks to re-direct my cravings.  Sure, I allow myself to indulge in small amounts, but I’ve noticed that if I OD on sugar, I feel it.

Sleep: I didn’t get much sleep this week–I’m adjusting to the early mornings and although I’m pretty tired in the afternoons, I’ve still managed to stay up later doing work/watching TV. It was heaven to sleep in today, but I’ve also noticed that too much sleep seems to make me headache-y, so it’s all about balance.

I am loving: This new “bump” – I’m finally looking pregnant and not just chubby. I had to get maternity jeans the other day–I had a long day on campus and after sitting down all day, I realized that my jeans needed to be widened even further (I’m using the handy-dandy hair-tie looped around the jeans button trick) and that the button and zipper were just bulky and uncomfortable. The maternity jeans now leave me with the sensation that my pants are falling down because the jean fabric is cut so low. . .maybe I’ll just live in yoga pants?

Milestones: The pregnancy is beginning to show! I’d say I’ve ‘popped’ this week. I have yet to have strangers on the street notice–and I don’t look pregnant in all clothing, but my belly is big enough that I need to pay attention to it.

Movement: I’ve had a few “umm, was that baby?” moments, but nothing for sure. I’m sure I’ll feel him soon enough!

Exercise: We went for a walk today at this cool wildlife park, but ended up just taking pictures of hummingbirds. Oops!

Goals for the upcoming week: This is a busy one–I’m talking to my director about plans for next fall and we have our 20-week anatomy scan. We’ll get another peek at our boy on Thursday!

Belly Shot: We took real belly pics today:

Leave a Reply

