Pregnant in Grad School

1 Mar

It’s shocking: I’m actually getting s@#t done tonight – as a perpetual student, I’m quite the night owl.  As much as I try to pretend that I’m a real adult and get up at a reasonable hour in the morning and work hard throughout the day. . .in reality, I still like to sleep in as late as possible and put off assignments until the last minute.  It has worked for the past, umm, 19 1/2 years of my education, so it can’t be a bad thing, right?

Enter pregnancy.

I have been a lucky girl and I haven’t been ravaged with morning sickness. I haven’t had to worry too much about holding down food or crazy food aversions.  I have, for the most part, had a healthy, easy first trimester.  But, oh! the exhaustion!  I have never been so wiped out in my life.  I keep a good balance of hard work and sleep. I like my 8-10 hours of sleep at night (with the occasional all-nighter).  But with this pregnancy, when I get home in the afternoon I immediately head for bed.  I don’t necessarily sleep, but I can’t be up and productive.  I check email, surf (baby) blogs, make dinner, and that’s about it.  Doing homework is just out. Grading assignments: out. Thinking: not an option.  I have fallen progressively more and more behind.  I go to bed at 8pm and hope to wake up early to take advantage of morning energy–but I wake up in the morning feeling more tired than when I went to bed.  It is so frustrating!

I can actually say that when I had a minor cold a few weeks ago, it felt great compared to the overall exhaustion of growing a baby.  I’m so glad I’m heading into trimester 2 and hopefully the energy and “glow” that goes with it!!

Which brings me back to the s@#t I gotta get done: I’m at week 8 of a 10 week quarter.  I’ve done 0 of 3 papers for one class and I’m about 3 weeks behind in grading.  It is crunch time! I also tutor 3 separate students and have other commitments out there.  But today: I’ve graded 6 papers and may have energy for a few more. Went grocery shopping so we don’t eat crap anymore. Reviewed 2 short papers for one of my tutored students. I actually read some of my course readings for the 0/3 class and I’m about to do a quick writing reflection (4/6). I told my class about my health “condition” which makes me feel just a tad less guilty.  It’s 9:43 and I’m not counting the minutes until I can GO.TO.SLEEP and I’m not nagging the hubs to please come to bed so I can sleep (thus turning a normal evening into a big pile of crankypants).

So, things are looking up!

All I can say is that it’s tricky to do coursework while pregnant–I’m thankful that I have only 1 class next quarter + teaching.  Maybe then I can actually keep up!

Leave a Reply

